History of the USA

Although the official beginning of the United States is July 4,1776, the day the thirteen original colonies declared their independence from the British Empire, The British arrival goes back to the Jamestown colony in Virginia in 1607 and the Plymouth colony in Massachussets in 1620.

The Dutch established the colony of New Amsterdam, o­n the island of Manhattan, about 1614. This became New York City when taken over by England in the 1670s. In 1729 the Carolina colony was split in two, and three years later Georgia was formed. All this created the thirteen original states of the USA.

On independence day is when the Constitution was adopted, which outlined how the new nation would be established, It was ratified in 1788, and the next year George Washington, the first president of the nation, along with the senate and house of representatives, took office. Slavery was a difficult issue from the beginning. It was abolished in the northern states by 1804, but continued in the south until the civil war in the 1860s.

The Louisiana purchase of 1803 almost doubled the size of the young country, covering all or part of twelve states in the central US. The old Spanish colony of Florida, which dated back to the late 1500s, came aboard in 1819, along with parts of three other southern states. The former republic of Texas was annexed in 1845.

George Washington
The Oregon treaty with Great Britain in 1846 established the states of the Pacific Northwest. Victory in the Mexican-American war in 1848 brought the annexation of the American Southwest. The discovery of gold there about that time brought a gigantic wave of fortune-seeking immigrants. This completed the "lower 48".
In 1867 Alaska was bought from Tsarist Russia. In 1898 Hawaii became a territory. Both became states in 1959.

North America in General

Popular Destinations in Canada

Popular Destinations in the USA

Popular City - Destinations in Canada

Popular City - Destinations in the USA