Louisiana

Lafayette
Louisiana ist spätestens nach 'Kathrin', dem Hurrikan, der New Orleans fast komplett verwüstete, in aller Munde gewesen. Seit dem unvergesslichen Ereignis 2005 wird wieder fleißig aufgebaut. Nichts ist mehr so wie es war, aber die Stadt hat trotzdem ihren alten Charme erhalten und ist weiterhin ein sehr beliebtes Reiseziel. Baton Rouge, Lae Charles, Shreveport, Kenner und Lafayette sind weitere Städte, die ein einzigartiges Flair haben, das Tradition und Leben der Südstaaten spiegelt.

Sehenswürdigkeiten: Der Staat ist reich an alten Gebäuden, historischen Orten und geschichtlichen Ereignissen. 54 historische Wahrzeichen werden staatlich unterstützt in Louisiana. Beispielsweise das Delta Queen Dampfschiff, das Zerstörungsschiff USS KIDD oder der Feuerwehrschlepper Deluge sind Zeugen der Geschichte. Jede kleine Stadt, jeder Ort, birgt großes und interessantes. Überall findet man sehenswerte Kirchen wie die Antioch Missionary Baptist Church, die Church of the Ascension of Our Lord und die Grace Episcopal Church. Zahlreich sind auch die Plantagen, die größtenteils Rundtouren anbieten. Sehenswert sind hier die Hermitage Plantation, the Choctaw Plantation, die St. Francisville's Baumwollplantage und die Destrehan Plantation.

Mississippi
Parks und Erholung: Natur und Geschichte vermischt findet man in manchen Anlagen wie dem Jackson Square und dem Garden District in New Orleans. Der Cane River National Heritage Area and Park, der Jean Lafitte National Historical Park and Preserve und der New Orleans Jazz National Historical Park sind weitere Attraktionen, die sich sehr lohnen. Zusätzlich hat Louisiana große Parks mit wunderbarer Natur, ganz besonders hervorzuheben sind der Chicot State Park, der Jimmie Davis State Park und der Tickfaw State Park.

Museen: In Louisiana gibt es Museen, die man nirgends woanders findet. Besonders interessant sind das Bonnie and Clyde Ambush Museum sowie das New Orleans Voodoo Museum, einem Kult, der noch heute häufig in Louisiana praktiziert wird.

Louisiana

Lafayette
Recently, the state of Louisiana has been featured in headlines as a result of the disastrous 2005 New Orleans hurricane and the long process of rebuilding that has since taken place. Despite the great damage to the city, it has remained a popular tourist destination. Other urban centers in Louisiana, such as Baton Rouge, Lae Charles, Shreveport, Kenner and Lafayette also attract a multitude of of visitors. These cities are notable for their cultural appeal and unique attractions.

Historic Sites

History abound throughout the state of Louisiana and is preserved in a host of historic attractions. There are a total of 54 National Historic Landmarks located in Louisiana. The Delta Queen river steamboat, USS KIDD destroyer ship and the Deluge firefighting tug are some of the most unique historical sites in the nation. Nearly every small town and city neighborhood in the state includes a historic church, most notably, the Antioch Missionary Baptist Church, Church of the Ascension of Our Lord and Grace Episcopal Church. There are also many old plantations that give history tours, including the Hermitage Plantation, the Choctaw Plantation, St. Francisville's Cottage Plantation and the Destrehan Plantation.

Parks and Recreation

Several Louisiana attractions such as Jackson Square and the Garden District seamlessly mix history with nature. Also popular with history buffs are the Cane River National Heritage Area and Park, the Jean Lafitte National Historical Park and Preserve and the New Orleans Jazz National Historical Park. Those who prefer more secluded settings enjoy exploring the extensive state park system, which includes such gems as Chicot State Park , Jimmie Davis State Park and Tickfaw State Park.

Unique Museums

Mississippi River
Louisiana is a place where tourists can experience things they couldn't find anywhere else! Distinct finds include the New Orleans Voodoo Museum and the Bonnie and Clyde Ambush Museum, among others.


North America in General

Popular Destinations in Canada

Popular Destinations in the USA

Popular City - Destinations in Canada

Popular City - Destinations in the USA