Alberta

Heart Mountain
Die Provinz Alberta liegt im Westen Kanadas, eingebettet zwischen British Columbia und Saskatchewan. Auch wenn Provinzen wie Quebec und o­ntario öfters von ausländischen Touristen besucht werden, lohnt sich ein längerer Aufenthalt in Alberta immer. Hier findet man viele historische Plätze und ein hervorragendes Outdoor-Programm.








Sehenswürdigkeiten

Alberta weist zahlreiche Sehenswürdigkeiten auf, von denen 18 offiziell von der Provinz unterstützt werden. Die wichtigsten dieser Sehenswürdigkeiten sind unter anderem:
-Father Lacumbe Chapel
-Fort George and Buckingham House
-Lougheed House
-Remington Carriage Museum
-Royal Alberta Museum
-Okotoks Erratic
-Turner Valley Gas Plant
-Ukranian Village
-Victoria Settlement
-Carmangay Tipi Rings
-Oil Sands Discovery Centre
-Stephansson House
-Royal Tyrrell Museum
-Reynolds-Alberta Museum

Viele bekannte und historische Sehenswürdigkeiten findet man beispielsweise in Calgary, eine Stadt, die man eher für die 1988 hier stattgefundenen Olympischen Spiele kennt. Besonderer Anziehungspunkt ist das Fort Calgary mit dem Deane House, mehreren Lok-Kabinen und einer großen alten Windmühle.

Naturparks

Alberta besitzt mehrere Naturparks, Biotope, Provinzparks, historisches Land und Erholungsgebiete. Der bekannteste ist der Willmore Wilderness Park, der ein einmaliges Tierleben aufweist: Grizzlys, Karibus, Bergziegen und Dickhornschafe ziehen hier frei durch die Wildnis. In den Rocky Mountains findet man mehrere Erholungsgebiete für Wanderer, Skifahrer, Camper und Bergsteiger. Im Winter findet das Canadian Birkebeiner Ski Festival in Alberta statt, Nordamerikas größtes Langlaufski-Festival, das zahlreiche Teilnehmer und Schaulustige anzieht.

Städtische Sehenswürdigkeiten

Minnewanka See
Calgary und Edmonton sind die beiden meistbesuchten Städte in Alberta. Hier pulsiert das Leben, nicht nur in den bekannten riesigen Einkaufsmalls wie West Edmonton Mall, das Southgate Centre und Whyte Avenue in Edmonton oder Cross Iron Mills, Market Mall und Chinook Centre in Calgary.

Alberta

Heart Mountain
The province of Alberta is located in western Canada, sandwiched between British Columbia and Saskatchewan. Although provinces such as Quebec and o­ntario tend to be sought out more by international tourists, Alberta is an appealing place to explore. This province is the site of great cultural heritage and a great destination for outdoors enthusiasts.








Historic Attractions

Alberta features a variety of distinct historic sites, 18 of which are officially recognized and preserved by the Alberta government. Provincial historic sites in Alberta include the following:

-Father Lacumbe Chapel
-Fort George and Buckingham House
-Lougheed House
-Remington Carriage Museum
-Royal Alberta Museum
-Okotoks Erratic
-Turner Valley Gas Plant
-Ukranian Village
-Victoria Settlement
-Carmangay Tipi Rings
-Oil Sands Discovery Centre
-Stephansson House
-Royal Tyrrell Museum
-Reynolds-Alberta Museum

Other prominent historic sites can be found in Calgary, a city best known for hosting the 1988 Winter Olympics. A favorite historical attraction here is Fort Calgary, which features the Deane house, several log cabins and large historic windmill.

Parks and Recreation

Alberta is the home of a variety of natural landscapes, which are preserved in several local ecological reserves, wildnerness areas, provincial parks, heritage rangelands and recreation areas. o­ne favorite, Willmore Wilderness Park features diverse wildlife, including mountain goats, bighorn sheep, grizzly bears and caribou. The Rocky Mountains provide recreational opportunities for hikers, backpackers, skiers, campers and rock climbers. Winter recreation thrives in Alberta, partly due to the Canadian Birkebeiner Ski Festival, which is the largest classical cross country ski festival in all of North America.

Urban Attractions

Lake Minnewanka
Calgary and Edmonton are the two main cities of Alberta. A thriving urban life can be found at the heart of these cities. Popular shopping centers include West Edmonton Mall, the Southgate Centre and Whyte Avenue in Edmonton, and Cross Iron Mills, Market Mall and Chinook Centre in Calgary.


North America in General

Popular Destinations in Canada

Popular Destinations in the USA

Popular City - Destinations in Canada

Popular City - Destinations in the USA